Strategic Partners



African Union Commission


The Commission is the Secretariat of the African Union (AU) entrusted with executive functions. It is composed of 10 Officials: A Chairperson, a Deputy Chairperson; Eight (8) Commissioners and Staff members. The structure represents the Union and protects its interest under the auspices of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government as well as the Executive Committee. The AU Commission is made up of Portfolios. They are: Peace and Security; Political Affairs; Trade and Industry; Infrastructure and Energy; Social Affairs; Rural Economy and Agriculture; Human Resources, Science and Technology; and Economic Affairs.

See more at:

The International Development Research Centre (IDRC)

download (13)

Part of Canada’s foreign affairs and development efforts, IDRC invests in knowledge, innovation, and solutions to improve lives and livelihoods in the developing world. Bringing together the right partners around opportunities for impact, IDRC builds leaders for today and tomorrow and helps drive large-scale positive change.

IDRC was established by an act of Canada’s parliament in 1970 to help developing countries find solutions to their challenges. The International Development Research Centre Act describes the Centre’s mandate: “to initiate, encourage, support, and conduct research into the problems of the developing regions of the world and into the means for applying and adapting scientific, technical, and other knowledge to the economic and social advancement of those regions.”

The United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS)

download (12)

The United Nations Office for Project Services (UNOPS) is an operational arm of the United Nations, supporting the successful implementation of its partners’ peacebuilding, humanitarian and development projects around the world.

UNOPS origins trace back to 1973, and until 1994 the Office for Project Services was part of UNDP. By decision of the General Assembly, UNOPS became a separate, self-financing entity within the UN development system on 1 January 1995.

See more at:

Department for International Development (DFID)

DFID is the arm of the UK government that manages Britain’s aid to the developing world and works to get rid of extreme poverty. It has its headquarters in London and East Kilbride, near Glasgow, with country offices in about 40 developing countries.

DFID provides aid to around 90 countries, working in partnership with governments, civil society, the private sector, charities and multilateral institutions including the World Bank, UN agencies, and the European Commission. DFID’s support for security sector reform (SSR) programmes is rooted in the fact that badly-managed, irresponsible security sectors lead to unstable governments, excessive military expenditure, human rights abuses and intractable poverty. On the other hand, well-managed and responsible security sectors reduce the incidence of violent conflict and create an environment in which poverty-reducing development can occur.

The International Organisation of La Francophonie 

The International Organisation of La Francophonie represents one of the biggest linguistic zones in the world. Its members share more than just a common language. They also share the humanist values promoted by the French language. The French language and its humanist values represent the two cornerstones on which the International Organisation of La Francophonie is based.

OIF was created in 1970. Its mission is to embody the active solidarity between its 70 member states and governments (56 members and 14 observers), which together represent over one-third of the United Nations’ member states and account for a population of over 870 million people, including 200 million French speakers.

The Geneva Centre for Democratic Control of Armed Forces/DCAF 
DCAF is one of the world’s leading institutions in the areas of security sector reform and governance. It provides advisory and practical assistance programmes, promotes democratic norms at the international and national levels, advocates good practices and makes policy recommendations to ensure effective democratic governance of the security sector.

Established in the year 2000, DCAF comprises of 54 Member States (including the Canton of Geneva) and four permanent observers.

Regional Centre for Peace and Disarmament in Africa (UNREC) 

UNREC is a UN Centre in Africa, formed in 1985 to support African States in their efforts to achieve regional peace, arms limitations and disarmament. UNREC conducts its activities on the African continent and covers all types of weapons, from small arms and light weapons to weapons of mass destruction.

Due to its location in Africa, UNREC specifically examines the relationship between security, disarmament and development. The Centre is also mindful of the linkages that exist between disarmament and arms control, and human security, gender issues, illicit trafficking in persons and drugs, crime, human rights, and governance.

Kings College London 


King’s College London is a public university located in London, UK, and a constituent college of the University of London.The University’s Conflict, Security And Development Group (CSDG) has collaborated and continues to work with the ASSN on various programmes such as the Liberia parliamentary training programme and the ongoing Security Sector Accountability and Police Reform (SSAPR) programme in Democratic Republic of Congo.

African Leadership Centre (ALC)


The African Leadership Centre (ALC) was established in Nairobi Kenya on the 24th June 2010 as an educational trust under Kenyan law, and in partnership with King’s College London and the University of Nairobi. The ALC and its flagship programmes grew out of the Conflict, Security and Development Group (CSDG) at King’s College London.



ISSAT provides support to the international community to reinforce and strengthen their individual and collective efforts to improve security and justice, primarily in conflict-affected and fragile states.